The LA Fitness guest pass runs for three consecutive days, and it covers two people. You and a friend. That second part sits in LA Fitness’s own terms and almost nobody quotes it.
If you are already a member and want to bring someone, that is a different rule with a different number, and the age limits do not match. A free-pass guest can be 16. A member’s guest has to be 18. Same building, two floors of paperwork, and we have not found another page that puts the two side by side.
Here is what LA Fitness actually publishes, and what it does not.
Last checked: 18 September 2026. Every rule below links to the LA Fitness page it came from.
The free pass is three days, and it lets in two people
The wording on the official free pass page is this: “This free pass must be activated within 30 days from the date emailed and once activated at the club, the pass is valid for 3 consecutive days for you and a friend.”
Three days. Two people. One request.
Most guides describe this as a solo trial. So readers turn up alone when they could have brought the person they were thinking of joining with. If you and your partner are both deciding, one request covers both of you for the same weekend at the same club.
The three days run consecutively once activated. So a pass activated on a Friday is done by Sunday night, whether you went in on Saturday or not.
How to get one, and the two steps nobody mentions
The request itself takes about a minute, and LA Fitness asks for five pieces of information before it will send anything.
- Open the LA Fitness free pass page.
- Enter your first name, last name, email address, phone number and ZIP code. All five are required.
- Wait for the email, then activate the pass at the club within 30 days.
- Bring a current picture ID that shows your birth date.
- Fill in a fitness analysis at the front desk.
- Sit through an orientation with a membership counselor.
Steps five and six are the ones that surprise people, and they come straight from the terms: “A fitness analysis must be filled out and guest must have an orientation with a membership counselor.” You do not walk in, scan a code and get on a treadmill. There is a conversation first, and that conversation is a sales conversation.
Budget twenty minutes for it on your first visit. Not three.
Our advice, and it is only advice: go on day one at a quiet hour, get the orientation out of the way, and keep days two and three for actually training. Otherwise you burn a third of a three-day trial on a tour of the locker room.
Non-members only, once every six months
Three limits sit on the free pass, and each one is written plainly enough in the terms that nobody reading them could claim to be surprised later.
- “Redeemable by non-members only.” If you have a current membership, the pass is not for you
- “Limit of one free pass per person every six months”
- “Guests cannot use consecutive passes for admittance,” so you cannot chain one pass onto the next and stretch three days into six
There is a fourth limit that almost nobody carries, and it catches people out: “Passes issued for over 1 month will not be honored.” That sits alongside the 30-day activation window rather than replacing it, which means a pass that has been in your inbox since last month is already dead.
Request it the week you plan to use it, not a month ahead.
One more line worth knowing about, though it will not affect most readers: the pass is “not available for resale or redeemable for cash” and “cannot be sold or listed for sale on-line auction sites such as eBay or uBid.” People have clearly tried.
Members can bring two guests, not one
This is the question the ranking pages refuse to answer with a number. The best-placed guest pass article says members can bring “usually 1 or 2 per visit, depending on your plan and location.” A shrug, dressed up as research.
LA Fitness publishes the number. Its VIP Guest Privilege page says: “These privileges allow you to bring two guests with you to use the club.”
Four conditions come with it, all quoted verbatim from that page rather than paraphrased, because the wording is where the detail hides:
- “The guest must be accompanied by you”
- “The guest must sign a medical and injury release form each time they use the club facilities”
- “The guest must follow all rules and regulations”
- “The guest must prove that he/she is at least 18 years of age or older or are at least 14 years of age and you are their parent or legal guardian”
The release form is per visit, not once. So a training partner who comes with you three times a week signs three forms a week. It is tedious enough that most people stop bothering, and the guest quietly becomes a member, which is presumably the point.
On flexibility, the page is relaxed: “You may bring a different guest each time or the same one-it’s up to you!”
One thing we could not pin down about the two-guest rule
That VIP Guest Privilege page sits under a heading about reactivating a membership. Its body text sets no condition about membership type, plan or tenure, and it reads as a general description of what guest privileges are. But we cannot tell you with certainty whether every LA Fitness member gets two guests or whether this describes an offer attached to reactivating a lapsed account.
So treat two as the published number and confirm it at your own club. We would rather say that than round it up into a promise LA Fitness has not made.
Some Classic plans list “1 guest per visit” instead
While reading 14 club rate pages for our LA Fitness membership price breakdown, we found both San Antonio clubs listing “1 guest per visit” inside the Classic plan’s access description. It was not on every club’s Classic listing. Not even close to every one.
Which is a real conflict, not a rounding error. One LA Fitness page says two guests, and a club’s own plan listing says one.
Check your own club’s rate page before you promise anyone anything. It is the same page that prints your monthly rate and the $69 annual fee, so you are reading it anyway.
The two age rules do not match
A 16-year-old can use a free guest pass on their own. That same 16-year-old cannot come in as your guest. The rules are two years apart and they live on two different LA Fitness pages.
| Route | Minimum age | Younger, if accompanied |
|---|---|---|
| Free 3-day pass | 16 | 13, “accompanied by a parent or legal guardian” |
| Member’s guest (VIP Guest Privilege) | 18 | 14, and the member must be the parent or legal guardian |
Read the second row carefully, because the difference is not only the number. On a free pass, any parent or legal guardian can accompany a 13-year-old. On the guest privilege, the accompanying adult has to be the member, and that member has to be the teenager’s own parent or guardian. Bringing your 15-year-old nephew does not work. Bringing your own 15-year-old does.
Both routes want the same document at the door, and LA Fitness words it identically on both pages: “A current picture ID (with birth date) must be presented for admittance to the facility.” A school ID without a date of birth will not do it.
What a day pass costs, and why we cannot tell you
LA Fitness does not publish a day pass price. Not on the free pass page, not on the offers page, and not on any of the 14 club rate pages we opened while researching what a membership costs across seven states. We looked specifically for it.
Several sites will give you a figure anyway. One currently ranking page quotes a “Walk-In Day Rate” of “$10–$25” and, to its credit, says where that came from: Reddit comments and a person it describes as a “verified LA Fitness employee.” That is a rumour with a price tag on it.
That $10 to $25 might even be roughly right. We have no way to check it, and neither does the page publishing it, so it is not going on ours with a decimal point that makes it look researched.
If you want a single paid visit, ring the club. Ask for the day rate and ask whether it comes off your first month if you join, because that is a common arrangement in the industry and LA Fitness does not say either way.
The 7-day pass that does not exist
Search this topic and you will find a “7-Day VIP Pass” listed at $0 with “location-specific availability.” One of the better-ranked pages has it in a table next to the real three-day pass, which makes both look equally official.
LA Fitness publishes nothing of the kind. The free pass page, the guest pass flow and the club finder all describe one offer, and it is three days long.
Same for the 30-day pass some pages mention.
Individual clubs run their own promotions, and LA Fitness says so plainly: “Offers presented on this site may not be available at all locations. Other offers may be available at a club.” So a seven-day trial may well have existed somewhere, at some point, run by one club. That is a long way from a national programme you can turn up and claim.
What still costs money on a free visit
The pass covers the gym floor and the group classes. It does not cover everything inside the building, and the terms name the exclusions: “Extra charge for some amenities including courts, leagues, personal training and Kids’ Klub (babysitting).”
| During a free pass visit | Included? |
|---|---|
| Gym floor, equipment | Yes |
| Basketball and racquetball courts | Extra charge |
| Leagues | Extra charge |
| Personal training | Extra charge |
| Kids’ Klub childcare | Extra charge |
| Pool and spa | Not specified in the terms |
| Group fitness classes | Not specified in the terms |
The last two rows are honest gaps. The pass terms list what costs extra and stop there, so we do not know whether a guest can use the pool or drop into a class without asking. Both are usually fine in practice, from what members report, but LA Fitness has not written it down and we are not going to write it down for them.
Ask at the desk during the orientation you are already sitting through, since you have a membership counselor in front of you for twenty minutes anyway.
Four ways into an LA Fitness, side by side
Every page on this subject merges these. They are four separate things with four separate rule sets. Knowing which one you are actually using is what decides whether the person at the front desk waves you through or sends you home.
| Free 3-day pass | VIP Guest Privilege | Classic “1 guest per visit” | Paid day pass | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who it is for | Non-members only | Members | Members on Classic, at some clubs | Anyone |
| People covered | You and a friend | Two guests | One guest | One |
| How long | 3 consecutive days | Ongoing | Ongoing | One day |
| Minimum age | 16, or 13 with a guardian | 18, or 14 if you are the parent | Not published | Not published |
| Paperwork | Photo ID, fitness analysis, orientation | Photo ID, release form every visit | Not published | Not published |
| Cost | Free | Free | Free | Not published |
| How often | Once per person per 6 months | Each visit | Each visit | No limit stated |
Four of those cells say “not published.” That is not us being lazy. It is the actual state of what LA Fitness has written down, and the pages filling those cells with numbers are guessing.
When the club will not honour your pass
It happens more often than the request form suggests, and when it does the reason is almost always one of four things.
- The pass is too old. Either past its 30-day activation window, or issued more than a month ago
- You are already a member. The pass is for non-members, and their system knows
- You had one recently. The six-month limit is per person, not per club
- The club does not run that offer. “Offers presented on this site may not be available at all locations”
That last one is the frustrating one. Nothing on the request form warns you before you drive over, and the pass arrives looking every bit as official as one your club would honour. If your club is not a participating location, it is a piece of email.
Phone the club first. Two minutes on the phone beats a wasted trip and a burned six-month allowance.
Can a Basic member bring a guest?
We could not confirm it either way, and we did go looking across every page LA Fitness publishes about plans and guests.
The VIP Guest Privilege page describes guest privileges without naming a plan. Some clubs spell out “1 guest per visit” inside the Classic access description, which hints the allowance is a plan feature rather than a universal one. No Basic listing on any of the 14 rate pages mentions guests. Not one.
An absence is not a rule. It might mean Basic members cannot bring guests, or it might mean the rate page simply lists fewer bullet points for the cheaper plan.
If you are on Basic and this matters to you, get the answer from your own club in writing before you rely on it.
LA Fitness gives three days, Planet Fitness gives one
| LA Fitness | Planet Fitness | |
|---|---|---|
| Free trial length | 3 consecutive days | One free day |
| People covered | You and a friend | One |
| How to claim | Online form, then activate at the club | The PF App, or in club |
| Orientation required | Yes, with a membership counselor | Not stated |
| Repeat limit | One per person per 6 months | Not stated |
On paper LA Fitness is the more generous trial, by a factor of three on length and then doubled again because one request covers two people. The trade is the orientation. Planet Fitness does not ask for one.
So if you want to test a gym quietly and alone, the Planet Fitness day pass is less hassle. If you want a real week’s worth of a decision with someone else, LA Fitness gives you more. We have the detail on how the Planet Fitness free day pass works, and on what an LA Fitness membership costs once the three days run out.
Questions people ask about the LA Fitness guest pass
How long is the LA Fitness guest pass?
Three consecutive days once you activate it at the club, and you have 30 days from the email to do that. The three days run back to back whether you use them or not.
Can I bring someone with me on a free pass?
Yes. The terms say the pass is “valid for 3 consecutive days for you and a friend”, so one request covers two people. Both of you need photo ID with a birth date.
How many guests can an LA Fitness member bring?
Two, according to LA Fitness’s VIP Guest Privilege page. Some clubs list “1 guest per visit” on the Classic plan instead, so confirm it at your own club before you turn up with two people.
How much is a day pass at LA Fitness?
LA Fitness does not publish a price for one. The $10 to $25 range circulating on other sites traces back to member reports rather than to LA Fitness, so ring your club for the real figure.
Can I get a second free pass?
Not within six months. The limit is one free pass per person every six months, and consecutive passes are specifically not allowed, so chaining two together to make a six-day trial does not work either.
Does LA Fitness have a 7-day pass?
Nothing on lafitness.com describes one. Individual clubs can run their own offers, so a seven-day trial might turn up locally, but there is no national seven-day pass to claim.
How we checked these rules
Every rule on this page came from LA Fitness’s own free pass terms, its VIP Guest Privilege page, its guest pass flow, or the 14 club rate pages we read for the pricing article, all checked on 18 September 2026. Nine things we wanted to tell you are not published anywhere, and we have said so each time rather than borrowing a number from somebody else’s guess.
Offers change and clubs vary. If your club told you something different from any of the rules above, send it over and we will open the LA Fitness page again before we change a word. More on how we research gym prices.